Campus Memorial

Photo of bagpipe player at campus memorial next to wreath of yellow and purple flowers

UC Berkeley will hold its annual memorial recognizing those in the campus community who died, including, academic & faculty, emerti, staff, students, post-doctorates, and visiting scholars, on  Thursday, September 1st, 2022 at noon by the flagpole west of California Hall.

All are invited to attend this event which includes brief remarks by the Chancellor, and a reading of the names of those being remembered, followed by music and spoken word. 

In coming together to remember and to honor the lives of the deceased, we reach out to our many colleagues and friends who have suffered loss, as we share in a universal human experience. This ceremony symbolizes the care and support that distinguishes the Berkeley community.

Those who will be remembered at this years Campus Memorial are listed below.

If you have any questions regarding this event or would like to add a person to be remembered, please contact memorial organizers at

A recording of the event will be available at a later date. 

Campus Memorial, September 1st 2022 

Academic & Faculty

Gerard (Roddy) Creedon, Architecture 

Phillip Geissler, Chemistry

Luis Gonzalez-Reimann, South & Southeast Asian Studies

Ira Stuart Jacknis, Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology

John Morgan, Haas School of Business

Robert Powell, Social Sciences, and Political Science

Thomas Reynolds, Law

Lucinda Sikes, Law

Leo Simon, Agricultural & Resource Economics

Stephen Sugarman, Law

Richard Taruskin, Letters & Science

Thomas Walsh, Celtic Studies


Christopher Alexander, Architecture

William Anderson, Ancient Greek & Roman Studies

Haruo Aoki, East Asian Languages and Culture

Richard Manley Bailey, Public Health

Frank Beall, Environmental Science, Policy & Management

Leo Bersani, French

Clarence Chan, Civil Engineering

Richard Crocker, Music

Jyotirindra DasGupta, Social Sciences, and Political Science

Didier De Fontaine, Materials Science, and Engineering

Kjell Doksum, Statistics

John Dracup, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Helen Eckert, Physical Education

Paul Groth, Architecture

Robert Harris, Chemistry

Richard Herr, History

Gerd Hillen, German

Teddy Hodges, School of Information

Joyce Lashof, Public Health

William (Bill) Lidicker, Integrative Biology

Karl Pister, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Lynn Robertson, Social Sciences/Psychology

Rudolf Schmid, Botany 

Charles Sellers, History

George Sensabaugh, Public Health

Hsieh Wen Shen, Civil & Environmental Engineering

David Starkweather, Public Health

Andrew Streitwieser, Chemistry

Ronald Stroud, Ancient Greek & Roman Studies

Norman Terry,  Plant & Microbial Biology

Pravin Varaiya, Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences

Lawrence (Larry) James Waldron, Rausser College of Natural Resources

Joanna Williams, History of Art, and South & Southeast Asian Studies


Federica Micucci, Ancient Greek & Roman Studies


Ray Avalos, Academic Facilities 

Michael Cole, Capital Strategies

Diane Hill, Graduate Division

Dan Holgate, Facilities Services

James Hummer, Student Affairs

Kevin Hurley, Space Sciences Laboratory

Constance Lewallen, Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive

Carole Lopes Cooper, School of Education

Andrew Moore, RSSP

Robert Nichols, Disabled Student's Program

Gwendolyn Nokes, Extramural Funds Accounting

Masako Osada, Chemistry

Marsha Saxton, Disability Studies, and Undergraduate & Interdisciplinary Studies

Jane Lang Scheiber, Chemistry

Dorothy Snodgrass, Law

John Stinson, Facilities Services

Curt Theisen, Technology Licensing

Quoc Tran, Facilities Services

Ellen Wilson, Accounts Payable

Graduate Students

Chen-Yuan Cheng, Law

Madeline Dickens, Physics

Undergraduate Students

Honesty Alexander, Political Science

Jackelinne Castro, Letters & Science

Luca Elghanayan, Chemistry

Britney Ng, Molecular & Cell Biology

Anthony Ontiveros, Urban Studies

Agodi Onyeador, Public Health

RJ Skocypec, Nuclear Engineering

Devin Yakoushkin, Environmental Design

Christian Yassa, Molecular & Cell Biology

Samuel Yun, Letters & Science

Campus Memorial 2021